Ulta 14 Piece Gift Review!

Displaying photo.JPG

Ulta is offering a free gift of this completely filled makeup bag with a purchase of $19.50 or more of Ulta beauty products. I bought a Kabuki brush to replace my broken powder brush and a liquid liner pen that equated $19.99. Getting right on the $19.50 mark takes talent, but I tried as hard as I could to get the bargain. Within 5 days my package came and included this makeup bag that was filled with 14 makeup items. The bag was avilable in a turquoise-blue and hot pink. I would assume the products in both bags would be the same colors, but this bag had more neutral-pink toned colors. Let’s begin!
Displaying photo.JPG

First off, it comes with 3 quads of eyeshadow. The quad on the left is called Chic and contains 4 shimmer colors. The middle one is named Dramatic with 3 shimmer and one matte grey color. The last one is named Classic and is broken! I used this shimmery quad once and tried to put the complicated packaging back together and now the top won’t come off. The color pay off is pretty potent, but I was expecting more mattes just because I feel like they’re cheaper to just put into a quad.

Displaying photo.JPG

Next are cosmetic brushes! I was really happy that Ulta counted this set of brushes as one product from the 14 piece kit and not individual. The first brush on the left is an eyeshadow brush and is great for blending out the crease. The middle brush says sponge tip brush and I always get these brushes, yet never use them. Every now and again I will use it to get large amounts of a cheap shadow out. I know it can be used to make ombre nail designs as well. The blush brush on the far right is pretty good, somewhat small compared to my typical blush brush. It does apply a lot of product at once!

Displaying photo.JPG

This teeny tiny nail polish is the next product in the bag. It is in the color Fuchsiamania and the color basin is about the size of a quarter. The color matches the bag, going along with the pink theme. It has decent nail coverage; not as amazing as an Essie or O-P-I. It takes two coats to have full coverage and is a shiny solution.

Displaying photo.JPG

This blush is crazy sparkly and is named Sweet Cheeks. The color is fairly sheen except for the sparkle. If you apply enough it has a peach tint. I found that it went on better with the supplied blush brush as opposed to one of my fluffy brushes. The color payoff doesn’t really excite me, but I might combine it with some other brushes to add more shimmer.

Displaying photo.JPG

Next is the Voluptuous Volume mascara in Jet Black. I really love this mascara! This is probably one of my favorite products from the bunch. The mascara pieces out your eye lashes and fans them out. It builds up easily and doesn’t smudge off the lower lashes. Smudging is always a big no-no for me because my lower lashes have a tendency of rubbing off onto my under eyes with bad mascara.

Displaying photo.JPG

When I saw there was eyeliner included, I was overjoyed because I ran out of my everyday liner. I typically stick with retractable liners because they smudge easier and don’t have to be sharpened. This pencils are pretty good, though. One side is black and the other is deep brown.

Displaying photo.JPG

The next product is Super Shiny Lip Gloss in Illusion. This lip gloss matches the blush which matches the lip butter included. I never was a huge fan of lip gloss because of bad sticky experiences, but this one is not a super sticky consistency. It doesn’t have a smell and is a little shimmery.

Displaying photo.JPG

This product was another one where it is smaller than it should be. It kinda feels like it is half full… Nevertheless, it is a decent primer and helps my makeup go on easier. It reminds me of my Neutrogena Shine Control Primer and has nearly the same packaging. It only has enough primer for a month of faces, maybe.

Displaying photo.JPG

The final product is the Super Shiny Lip Butter in Vienna and I previously wrote about this in my last post.  I ADORE this lip butter so much! It doesn’t dry me out, has a light pink/nude with gold flecked color, and is so creamy. I will definitely keep Ulta lip butters in mind when searching for a new lipstick. This lip butter is easy to just slip on any day and works every time.

Displaying photo.JPG

Overall, these products are fairly decent. If you are new to makeup or have a minimal collection, I would say get this because all the products are supposed to work together and create one main look. If you are experienced and have a large collection of makeup, I would have to say skip it. Unless you need something worth $19.50 from Ulta, I wouldn’t intentionally buy this. The products are good and some are great, but I just feel like it is a collection that half of it might not even get used that often…

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • 151,438 beauties!