Products I Regret Buying in the Fall!

Winter officially started on December 21st, ending a long and enjoyable fall. With every season that passes, more products are added to the list of products that robbed my cash. Most of these products can be bought from a drugstore, but a few are luxury. I typically scouer the internet for reviews on beauty products before I buy them, and these just didn’t cut the mustard. Let’s begin!

The first product is the Nude’ Tude palette by The Balm. This palette costs $36.00 and is known as a “luxury product”. With most luxury products you get what you paid for, but this product was so just so basic. Thankfully, I had a gift certificate so I didn’t have to spend full-price. This palette has 12 colors that go from light to dark. The colors included are highly pigmented, but they just don’t offer much. I would much rather pay a bit more for a Naked palette. The brush included is the typical grade makeup brush that accompanies palettes.

The next item is the Maybelline Big Eyes mascara. This product is an offspring from the Falsies collections and is double-ended for upper and lower lashes. I first saw the commercial for this and thought finally! My bottoms lashes are a lot smaller than my top and so it is difficult to apply with large brushes. Unfortunately, this formula smudges like crazy. I would be wearing the mascara for an hour and it would already be smudged down onto my eyelids. Eventually, I just couldn’t use the product anymore and cleaned off all the product on the brushes to use with other mascaras. The upper lash side made minimal volume. The only real steal was the bottom lash brush. This mascara costs $7.99.

The Garnier Skin Renew BB Cream is an unfortunate regret as well. This costs $12.99 and promises nutrients along with light, natural coverage. After a few uses I decided it was too much work. It did not set, it just sat on top of the skin. I do not have oily skin (quite the opposite) and it looked greasy. It needs powder to set. It does not provide much coverage and is not buildable. It will become orange and cakey looking. I also found the light shade was not light enough for my skin tone.

NYX has always been a great drugstore brand, but this gloss has got to go! This is the NYX Round Gloss and it costs around $3.00. This gloss has a good formula, yet smell like soap. Not the quality, fresh soap. The old, skin-drying soap smell. After a day of wearing it, my mouth started tasting the soap and I had to wipe it off. Old soap smell isn’t the most flattering of scents.

The final product I recieved as a sample, but was so bad it made it on the list. This is the Dove Smooth & Soft Anti-frizz Cream. Dove has started a new line of hair care items that are more than just the usual soap and shampoo. This is probably the worst anti-frizz cream I have ever used. I have naturally curly hair and with these curls comes along lots of frizz. Dove’s product made my un-frizzy hair heavy and greasy, while the frizz shows up within a half hour. Thankfully, I did not buy this product, but I have heard countless bad reviews from other beauties. Will definitely not be buying this!

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amria
    Jan 05, 2014 @ 00:23:41

    The mascara sucks, doesn’t it? I am so glad to see a post like this, we also need bad reviews around to see what not to spend money on.

    Reply

  2. natziwang
    Jan 05, 2014 @ 05:22:29

    Urgh. Thanks for the post, I’ll make a note to stay away from all these items.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • 110,518 beauties!
