Flawless Foundation Routine!

Foundation, the magician of makeup. It can makeup your blemishes, redness, and dark spots vanish in thin air! Well, not literally, but it does a great job in covering it all up. I usually wear this foundation routine daily, with the occasional quick swipe of concealer when I am rushing. This routine is truly for people with problem areas, but if you just enjoy the even coverage then you can just switch a few steps around. All of my products used are from the drugstore, but you could substitute your own precious products where needed. Let’s begin!

First, you have to use a good primer. Lately, I have been using the Alway Smart Shade Primer. I started using this because my old primer ran out and just wasn’t cutting the mustard anymore. So I went to the drugstore and saw that there was only one left of this and it looked a lot like the Stila primer so I bought it. It comes out with green and purple swirls that are supposed to cover and correct your skin. I don’t really notice it, maybe it does do that. Using a makeup wedge, put about less than a dime squirt onto the wedge and rub it all over. If you get really oily in your T-zone then apply a little extra there.

Now this step can vary depending on your skin. If you don’t have many blemishes or unwanted areas, then just skip to foundation and apply concealer if necessary. But I do have troubled skin, so I apply this concealer to my unwanted areas and blend them in with my middle finger. Applying concealer first will allow you to not use as much foundation.

For foundation it is of course the beloved Revlon Colorstay for Combination/Oily Skin in the color 110 Ivory. Yes, my paleness is verging on transparent lately. I usually apply this with the same makeup wedge that I put the primer on. I prefer makeup wedges because they are cheap, blend well, double sided, and keep everything clean. For more coverage, apply with a makeup brush. This will apply the most possible product without using too much. I typically save using the brush for special occasions or where pictures will be taken. Apply, wait for it to dry which takes about 10-15 seconds, then apply any extra concealer. This is mainly for spots you missed or the under-eye area.

When using powders you truly need to look at how much coverage you need. I prefer a loose mineral powder because it covers without caking makeup on. I really like Physicians Formula Mineral Loose Powder because it works great and is exactly like Bare Minerals. Using a powder brush just dab this across the face. Powder is used to set the face and without it the whole thing would just melt off and be pointless.

On occasions, I will apply this shimmery powder from Physicians Formula only to highlight my face more. It adds light and natural-looking shimmer. I don’t typically use this as a highlight because it does have a brightness to it that isn’t meant for every day wear. I wouldn’t recommend this for full-face wear or you might look quite odd.

Now your complexion is completely flawless! Not that it already wasn’t πŸ˜‰ Just add contour, blush, or a matte highlight of your choosing to finish it off.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lcuyh
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 21:01:53

    Are you from the UK? Please say you are!
    Where did you find Alway Smart Shade Primer?!
    I’m using Stila auto corrector at the moment, this would be brilliant to compare it to!

    Lucy oxox
    http://lcuyh.wordpress.com

    Reply

  2. thebeautybeans
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 22:19:08

    I am about to buy that foundation for fall time (I dont usually wear foundation in summer).. I guess you’d recommend it! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Product Battles: Stila Primer vs. Almay Primer | Love of beauty is taste. Creation of beauty is art
  4. www.matbowles.com
    Aug 16, 2014 @ 11:08:28

    I believe that is among the so much vital info for me. And i am satisfied reading
    your article. However want to remark on some general things, The
    web site style is ideal, the articles is actually nice : D.
    Good job, cheers

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • 107,612 beauties!
