How To Walk In High Heels Like a Pro

As crazy as this seems, many women still haven’t mastered the art of walking in heels. Hundreds of style-hungry ladies skip the heels section each day because of a fear of the unknown. You won’t necessarily be walking on 5 inch heels by tomorrow, but these steps can help you feel like you aren’t walking on stilts every time. Being a person who was weary of heels in the beginning I know how you feel, but today I wear heels 2-3 times per week for about 7-8 hours per day. Let’s begin!

I’ve been wearing heels since I was a teenager so my feet have been thoroughly trained to be in heels. If you are just starting out, don’t immediately go for the stilletos.  Get some heels between 2-3 inches and preferably with a bit of a thicker heel and wear them around the house. Wear them when you are cooking, wear them when you are doing your makeup, when you are vacuuming, walk up and down the stairs, etc…  You don’t need to even get dressed up, just walk around and wear them in your sweats, nobody will see you but if you wear them during normal activities without leaving the house, you will get a lot more used to them and not feel foolish because nobody will see you practicing.  I do this when I’m breaking my shoes in and it helps a lot in that aspect as well. Practice truly makes perfect and the more you break in the heels the more comfortable they will be.

Nothing looks worse than a girl who’s wearing shoes that are too big or too small and you can see them visibly struggling to walk in them.  I wear different sizes with different brands and even within the same designer I can go up or down a half size so make sure that you are wearing the size that fits your foot and not just the size that you “usually” wear. To help with sizing you can also get insoles. When you are buying shoes, walk around the shoe department in them and make sure that your heel doesn’t pop out or it’s not squeezing your toes or the sides of your feet. Don’t think that shoes will stretch because most of the time they won’t stretch enough and they’ll still be too tight to wear.

Walking slow is much better than trying to keep your normal pace and then falling on your face.  Don’t feel silly for walking slow or taking small steps.  I mean don’t walk abnormally slow (if you do, you may need more practice) but look around you, there’s always a ton of people walking slow and you probably don’t stare at them weird or anything do you?  So ignore your own self conscious feeling of “dang people are probably staring at me because I’m so slow” and just take your time walking.  If you have to go up or down stairs, always hold on to the handrail or your significant other to keep steady.  It sounds silly but I’ve seen people take tumbles because they didn’t have anything to hold onto but if you are wearing heels, you have a higher chance of slipping or getting your footing wrong when going down stairs.

When I know I’ll be walking a lot, I always carry a bigger handbag and put a pair of flats in there. Then when I’ve been on my feet for a couple of hours and I need to give them a rest, I’ll just slip on my flats, put my heels in the shoe bag and my feet are back to being comfy! There are even flats out there like these Dr. Scholl’s Fast Flats that are foldable flats and are really compact to keep in your handbag.

Tips:

If a stiff shoe causes blisters, spritz the body with water and use your fingers to mold the softened leather to the shape of your foot or try special inserts to reduce friction.

The inner arch of the heel, or the breast,  affects stability. The farther forward the arch, the less you will feel off-balance.

Slipping on slick floors? Pick up a pair of sole protectors or score the soles of your heels with a key to create extra traction.

If your toes feel pinched, have the toe box stretched out at your local shoe repair shop.

If you suffer from low arches, slip in supports to relieve pressure on the balls of your feet.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. misshsam
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 19:48:10

    Reblogged this on fashionsvictims and commented:
    How a girl becomes a real women!😜

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • 105,691 beauties!
