Prom is in the Air!

Prom, short for promenade, is what little girls dream about daily. When I was in high school I only got to go to prom once due to that I graduated early. When I did attend the theme was “California Dreaming”. Which no one knew how to dress according to the theme and once we got there the decorations were like old Hollywood. Prom is truly one night where you just feel free. Surrounded by your friends, date, and ready to make the best memories of the school year. In order to have a good time, a lady must overcome obstacles. Finding the perfect dress, finding the perfect makeup that won’t melt off your face from dancing the night away, etc. Much like a prom scavenger hunt.  This makeup look is my favorite and is guaranteed to last the entire night. Let’s begin!

First using Make Up Forever HD Microperfecting Primer, I spread this across my face. I usually buy the green primer and use one squirt on my whole face. If you are prone to be greasier in certain areas, like your t-zone, then apply a small bit more in those areas. The green primer is more beloved than white because the green works along with your foundation to cover up anything from blemishes to sun damage. It really keeps the face together the whole night.

 

 

Next is the foundation. The foundation I recommend can be used for prom and also every day wear. I wear it every single time I wear foundation and I truly adore it. It is Revlon ColorStay foundation for combination/oily skin. I like it because it contains salicylic  acid which helps fight breakouts. This foundation shows up great in photos as well. It doesn’t get splotchy or shiny. I apply this using a foundation brush all over my face. I will use a Covergirl concealer to my under-eye area and any blemishes or troublesome spots. This face mix sets fantastic with Neutrogena press powder. Using a thick powder brush, gently apply this powder to your face.

 

 

If you have an issue with your brows then using the Benefit Brow Duo shadow set gently shade in your desired shape. I do not have to shave in my eyebrows because they are already voluptuous, but if you have to this set has amazing reviews by everyone I know. It has two colors inside that help you get the preferred shape. For gently blushed cheeks I applied Bobbi Brown blush in the color Nectar on the apples of my cheeks using an angled blush brush. I applied just enough to add definition to my face, but not consume the whole look. This color is completely matte and is a gorgeous color. I don’t apply a highlight on my face or contour, but if you do it will bring more shape to your face. Afterward I primed my eye lids using Urban Decay’s Eye shadow Primer. Priming the lids will ensure that the makeup doesn’t ooze off your face mid-prom from all that dancing. Eye shadow time! For my eyes I will be using the NAKED2 palette by Urban Decay. I use this palette for everything from formal events to going into town.

 

 

First, cut off two 1 inch rectangles of household tape and from the corner of the eye to the edge of the brow tape it down. As weird as this process sounds, it will ensure the eye shadow will have a winged flare. Using a flat shadow brush, pat Verve across the lid. The names of each shadow are found below the shadow in the palette. Apply Tease with a medium fluffy brush to the outer 1/3 of the eye, blending outwards towards the tape. Using a blending brush, apply YDK into the crease and outer portion of the lid. Smudge busted in the outer lash liner and apply a small amount into the crease. Apply Blackout to the lower lash line with a liner brush and the top line. You could also apply liquid liner to the top liner if needed. For an inner eye highlight I highly recommend using Ellis Faas Light Pen. Apply this to the inner corners of the eye to lighten your eyes. The shimmer in this brings out the color pigments in your eyes. Taking off the tape, the shadow should have a sharp wing to it. If you would like more sparkle to it, add a shimmery shade to the middle of the lid.

naked-palette

For eyelashes the choice is either natural or fake. Since this event is very formal I would recommend using fake, because it shows up a lot better in pictures. For long-lasting lashes, I recommend using any Kiss eyelash product. I have used them for years and they have never un-glued themselves unexpectedly from my eyelids.

Since this eye shadow is a more dramatic look, for lips I will apply and lighter color. Using Mac lipstick in the color Myth, apply this to your lips. For bigger looking lips, take a white liner pencil and outline the cupids bow on the top lip and the middle thickest part of the lower lip. This will highlight your lips when picture taking time comes around.

And that’s it! You are officially prom ready. Along with the gorgeous dress, every girl needs to bring essential items. For inside the clutch, I recommend bringing cover-up, blotting facial papers, your cellphone, money, I.D, a camera, keys, and, of course, your tickets to get inside prom. For many girls, prom is a night like no other, and I wish everyone the same for their prom experience.

Recently, my cousin went to prom and here I did her makeup with the same look, but added orange to compliment her dress. Have fun!

IMG_3093

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Must Have Boxes
    May 06, 2013 @ 19:16:18

    Great prom beauty picks!

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

    Reply

  2. tarm96
    Jun 02, 2013 @ 15:43:28

    this has been so helpful! my prom is coming up soon and i have been panicking about the make up and what to use that will stay on well so thankyou so much!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • 107,612 beauties!
